Book Review: Ever the Brave by Erin Summerill

33413892

The second book in the Clash of Kingdoms series, Ever the Brave, starts up just weeks after Ever the Hunted (book 1) concluded. It continues the story in a plausible way and is told from three different points of view: Skilled Archer/Channeler Britta, Royal Bounty Hunter Cohen, and King Aodren of Malam. When Channeler girls start to go missing from the neighboring country Shaerdan, these three must uncover the reason and work to save the girls. They must also battle their romantic feeling as the three storyteller are caught in a love triangle. The future of Malam – and of their hearts – is at stake in this action-packed sequel.

You absolutely need to read the first book to understand the second. You are expected to know the backstory since the author gets right into the action. The story moved fast enough to keep my interest. I love first person narratives in YA and I also think it was unique that we saw 3 perspectives! The fantasy world is unique but I don’t think we get to meet enough people. We learn nothing about some of the lands on the map at the front if the book. The author spends the most time on the love triangle, and not enough on the motivations of the “villains.” Some characters are included for seemingly no reason. Many moments are predictable and I never found myself guessing which love interest would win out.

Overall, I did learn some valuable lessons about accepting people’s flaws while still loving them. I learned that even the heroes are not perfect. I learned that I should hold fast to those I love, trust them, and not be a “jealous bludger,” as the irresistible Cohen Mackay likes to say. These are messages people need to hear. The story was exciting enough to keep me entertained, but I was expecting more. Like its protagonists, this book was far from perfect.

3/5 stars

Image result for 3 stars out of 5 wikimedia

 

 

Leave a comment